Governing Body Membership


Rob Hailey: Chair of Governors

Robert Miles: Parent Governor / Vice Chair of Governors 

Katharine Swart: Parent Governor 

Neil Nash: Co-opted Governor

Carole Payne: Co-opted Governor 

Governor Profiles 2017




Our main role is to help raise standards of achievement at the school through close liaison with Mrs Bull and staff. We make decisions important for the school, plan all aspects of its development and monitor and evaluate its progress.  
Together with Mrs Bull we are responsible for making sure Watchlytes School provides good quality education in a happy, safe and inclusive environment. 
We support and challenge the head teacher, drawing on our collective knowledge and experience but respecting the position of the head teacher as the professional leader of the school. 
We make decisions together on matters such as performance, targets, school policies and school development plans.  
We monitor the impact of policies and oversee school budgets and staffing. 
There are two committees that support the work of the governing body:  
Finance, Resources and Premises  (Chair – Robert Miles) 
Teaching, Learning and Pupil Welfare (Chair) 
All governors sit on at least one committee and the Chair and the Head sit on both. 


Parents are welcome to contact a Governor directly, we are all approachable and a number of the Parent Governors are often to be found at the school at the start and end of the school day. 
If you wish to write to a specific Governor, this can be done by addressing the letter and handing the letter in at the school office for the Governor concerned. Letters to the Governing Body should be addressed to the Chairman and delivered in the same manner  
While we welcome letters and value your comments, initial complaints and issues relating to the day to day running of the school should, in the first instance, be referred to the relevant teacher or to the Head.
Chair of Governors: Mr Neil English
Vice Chair of Governors: Mr Robert Miles 
Staff Governors: Mrs Natasha Bull and Mrs Lorraine Brendish
Parent Governors: Mrs Kate Swart, Mr Neil English and Mr Robert Miles
Co-opted Governors: Mrs Carole Payne, Mr Neil Nash, Mr Robert Hailey
Clerk to the Governors: Mr Robert Blythe (From Herts Governance) 

Committee structure:

Children, Curriculum and Standards Committee 
Mr Robert Hailey
Mrs Kate Swart
Mrs Carole Payne
Mr Andrew Farrugia
Mrs Natasha Bull
Mrs Lorraine Brendish
Resources Committee
Mr Robert Miles
Mr Neil Nash
Mrs Michelle Berridge
Neil English
Mrs Natasha Bull


Latest Events

Flu Vaccination R, Y1, Y2, Y3, Y4
Tuesday 28 November - All Day
New Nursery Parent Meeting - January Intake
Wednesday 29 November, 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM
KS1 Dress Rehearsal
Monday 4 December, 2:00 PM -
KS1 First Performance
Tuesday 5 December, 2:00 PM -
KS1 Second Performance
Wednesday 6 December, 2:00 PM -